Tags

, ,

Reading a book you want to like and then liking it is like biting into a delicious-looking gluten free vegan brownie and discovering that it actually doesn’t taste like dry cardboard. In other words, Tina Fey’s Bossy Pants is glorious. I wish all humor books were this readable.

And it’s a good thing because I waited a good three months for it via New York Public Library. As it turns out, placing a hold on the large print copy did nothing to expedite the process because there were fewer copies, which strikes me as some form of discrimination against either those with poor vision, or those who are too impatient to stand in the longer line.(I still love you, NYPL, and will miss you most of all.)

But back to Tina. Or Tina-bop. We’re on a first name basis because if I ever get my late night show she will be my first guest.

If you like to laugh every page or so, and chuckle to yourself knowingly about the horrors of cruise ship food, about following the trail of misfits to community theatre and the amazing technicolor updraft of live improv into television sketch comedy – then you’ll eat this book up like a doughnut frosted with cheap and smart hahas alike.

What I enjoyed most about Bossy Pants is that it has the voice of a reluctant mentor. It’s clear that Tina’s success is not just the result of her talent, but of the confidence she had in herself to put it out there with whip in hand unwilling to accept sexist pretenses of women in comedy.

A Few Lessons Learned from Bossy Pants:

  • It’s okay to make out with a boy if you’re prepared to question your judgement later, and, years later, pilfer the momentsĀ for best-seller fodder.
  • Boys stay gross – men pea in bottles.
  • SNL is a feat. I’m glad it’s still around. Maybe I’ll watch it tonight. Maybe.
