Tags

, ,

A Monster Calls

When you live in a city and abruptly change your lifestyle, primarily by staying home at nights and on weekends, you get a lot done. For me, I read 59 books and drafted two 90k stories this year. That is more productive than I’ve ever been in my life. Take that, NYC, you big temptress of distraction.

I had to change my perspective to accomplish this switch. For instance, theatre is no longer art it’s a distraction. Meeting up for drinks with friends? -What friends? Those are distractions. Try out the new restaurant around the corner yet? -Not for me. Odds are everything on the menu will send me spinning in circles for days. Cheers to you, allergies, and your awful downward spirals.

In fact, my reading tally would be a lot higher were it not for the obscene length of Game of Thrones, and a certain children’s book that passed through my hands like lightning with the words ‘you have to read this’ whispered first to me, and now by me.

A Monster Calls is the kind of book that stays with you. The only book I can compare it to is A Wrinkle in Time, the first book that thoroughly blew my 5th grade mind. Written by Patrick Ness, the story is inspired by an idea from Siobhan Dowd before she passed away, and illustrated by Jim Kay.

It would do a disservice to the book to give any of the story away. I had no idea what it would be about, and I think this i the best way to enter this story. The haunting illustrations drew me in before page 1, but what I appreciated most was the tone and how Ness assumes his readers are as smart and curious as his hero, a boy named Conor. Now go read it!

