Tags

, , , , , ,

Two things occurred to me after turning the calendar today: shoot, it’s about time to do my taxes and it’s poetry month.

April began with little notice here as we mourn the loss of a friend. One by one my favorite poets creep into my head. First Donald Hall’s Distressed Haiku written for his late wife Jane Kenyon:

You think that their
dying is the worst
thing that could happen.

Then they stay dead.

Then Allen Ginsberg’s Kaddish written for his late mother Naomi:

Strange now to tink of you, gone without corsets & eyes, while I walk on the sunny pavement of Greenwich Village.

Robert Frost came by, too, with Reluctance.

Out through the fields and the woods

And over the walls I have wended;

I have climbed the hills of view

And looked at the world, and descended;

I have come by the highway home,

And lo, it is ended.

I could go on as death is a poetic preoccupation, but I have a rule about sad things: if you want to tell me a sad story, fine, but you owe me two happy/odd/ fun (HOF) offerings immediately after. This rule has no exemptions so here are my offerings:

* One of the best love poems of all time – Samuel Beckett’s Cascando

* Creepy Bunnies via Laini Taylor

*An event not to miss: DC’s Chili Cook-Off May 12th. This is really a music festival with awesome food. Yay festival season. Here’s the line up:

Cake

Angels & Airwaves

Awolnation

Neon Trees

Civil Twilight

Twin Atlantic

and for some reason Incubus is headlining.

