Tags

Hey! Quick reminder that today’s free comic book day. Your mission, should you choose to accept it:

Exit the front door and do whatever you do to propel yourself into a local comic shop.

Say hello to the busy guy behind the counter.

Bring your arms in close and assume a slightly hunched position. This is the only way to not feel like a pinball bouncing through the inevitable backpack clad regulars who tend to plant their feet to flip through page after page not to move until you’re attempting to slip by. Then before you know it all the backpacks shift around. Tempting as it may be to drop to the floor, stand your ground.

Wiggle to the Free signs. Ours were lined across the top row of the middle aisle.

Then only take issues you know you’ll actually read and ideally pass on. I grabbed a Ramayana, Molly Danger (I’m super super excited about this one. Jamal’s a friend of a friend and he dressed as Storm for Halloween so you know his comic’s gonna rock.), Walking Dead and a Hulk for myself and a few kiddie ones for my nieces including Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Sponge Bob and Strawberry Shortcake.

Bonus mission: With comics in hand, head to a hill with something delicious and read. I’m packing strawberries and a green drink so I can pretend it’s a margarita and I’m just too fancy for the bars. Cheers!

