Tags

, ,

Hi, people on the other side of the internet. I wonder if you can recommend books, movies, comics, graphic novels – any form of entertainment about a character with cancer. The one requirement is that it has to have a happy ending. The character has to live. And it would be great if he or she could be a teenager, but adult stories are good, too.

If you know of any such kick-ass books and things, please let me know. My sweet relative was recently diagnosed, so we’re on a hunt for happy endings – Hollywood and sick fiction are lousy with melodramatic bad ones. Our hero not only lives, he rides into battle on a dwarf leopard wielding Mjölnir.

Here’s what I have so far:

I’ve haven’t read “The Fault in Our Stars”. Is it the kind of book people like because it’s depressing and sad, or does it end well? Spoilers are welcome. And as a way of saying thanks, here’s the view of my empty espresso mug, for your viewing pleasure. I wonder if tea leaf readers also know the language of melted chocolate.

The inside of my espresso cup adorned with melted chocolate

The inside of my espresso cup adorned with melted chocolate

