Tags

, , , , , , ,

Learn something new every day, right? Today I learned I’m even more out of touch than realized because I had no idea they made Winter’s Tale, one of my favorite books ever, into a movie. A movie! And it’s coming out next month. Have you seen the tasty trailer yet?

I’m cautiously thrilled to see what Hollywood’s done with this powerful story. This particular trailer focuses on the historical romance, but there’s so much more to gnaw on. I’m talking time travel, magical realism and a devilish gang. This is the kind of book you crave and don’t know it. The kind you loathe putting down and can’t wait to pick back up. It adds an undeniable buzz to your day to day so much so that when it’s over you can’t help but feel like this whole other world you were briefly a part of has left you behind.

Be good to yourself and read the novel before seeing the film! Bump this to the top of your to-read pile.

Winter's Tale by Mark Helprin

Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin

The New York City of Winter’s Tale is a magical place that transcends time. The author sustains a delicate balance of extremes – beauty and brutality, eternity and death – while layering stunning visuals, funny moments, once in a lifetime relationships and a million memorable characters until you think the whole thing will topple over.

But the best part is the quality of the writing. Mark Helprin writes like nobody else. I will warn you that’s tough to finish this novel. Not the reading of the ending, but the emptiness that follows. It’s difficult to find contemporary fiction that comes close to measuring up. For me, Winter’s Tale raised the reading bar impossibly high. I wonder why it took them so long to adapt it to screen. I’m trying to not get too excited, but if this movie lets me down I’m dumping Hollywood for good.

