Tags

, , , ,

Back in October I stumbled on Jason Mott’s book The Returned. The premise of deceased people returning to life with no explanation instantly drew me in. Though the book didn’t go the way I thought it would, it’s a curious story. As it turns out, ABC made it into a series that’s airing on Sunday. For some reason they changed the name to Resurrection. I think The Returned is a more evocative title, but I’m glad for the author.

The Returned by Jason Mott

The Returned by Jason Mott

It has a handful of strong story lines to work with and Omar Epps is in it. I’m going to give the show a chance, but I’m applying the 10 minute rule – if I’m not having a good time after 10 minutes the TV goes off. Sunday is my Hungarian night after all.

Resurrection on ABC

Resurrection on ABC

It’s true. Every Sunday I attempt to wrap my brain around the Hungarian language. Occasionally I try to make a whole night of it and cook a gluten free/ vegan version of a traditional Hungarian dish. As most of the Hungarian dishes I know include some combination of meat, cream or bread this usually results in perfectly good tempeh drenched in paprika.

I always feel a little giddy after completing a lesson and something about studying at night helps me focus, but a little schedule shift won’t hurt. If the show’s not good I’ll write a strongly worded letter in Hungarian. Then I’ll tear it up because they’d really need to hear my inflection to get the sentiment. Should anyone attempt to translate they’d find it wasn’t a letter at all but a series of slurred observations about red doors and the green auto turning right. I write in Hungarian like a nervous spy, but I can speak it like an excited grandma. At least that’s what my grandma tells me. 

