Tags

, , , , ,

I swallowed a bug this morning. Let the season of spring commence!

So today is a special national or international day for a handful of different reasons. Let’s see, it’s …

Spring Equinox

Free Rita’s Water Ice Day

National Macaron Day

Great American Meatout (a day without meat)

International Happiness Day

That’s a lot of pressure to put on one day! I don’t mind the availability of free treats, mind you, but I’m not going out of my way or wait in line. I wonder if Rita’s delivers to Brooklyn? That’d be nice.

Aside from all the grand titles, it’s actually an ordinary, lovely sunny day here. I went for an easy afternoon run and was surprised to find my legs are back. The 5 miles flew by. Yesterday’s run was my first in 4 days and it left me tired and sore. I thought it’d take a week or so to get back into the swing so I’m a happy gal right now.

While I was visiting family I ran into an old buddy who’s trying to get back into running. She shed almost 50 pounds training for a half. After her race she stopped running due to injury and has stayed stopped for the last year or so. Now she’s back at the beginning struggling through a full mile and feeling discouraged. There are so many ways to encourage struggling runners, but I never know where to begin.

I guess the answer’s rather obvious. It has to start with the beginning. Going back to finding peace/joy/significance/[insert good stuff here] in simply putting one foot in front of the other again and again. Too bad that’s not catchy. I’m going to go ahead and declare today Global Put One Foot In Front of the Other Many Many Times Day anyway. Why not?

