Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is the final book in Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy. What begin with heart ache in Legend then kicks you in the head with Prodigy and now Champion swings you around, steps on your toes and dips you whether you want to be dipped or not. Dystopian novels aren’t really my cup of tea. Most strike me as depressing and, while I liked the Hunger Games series, right now the plot lines of these books are a dime a dozen. Sorry if that sounds grumpy, but it’s true and if you disagree get off my lawn.

I’m a sucker for great writers though. Marie Lu’s writing is crisp, her characters sharp and her dreary world more dynamic as it’s depicted from multiple vantage points – rich, poor and Antarctica.

You probably shouldn’t read any further if you have an interest in the series. There may be a few spoilers. LOOK AWAY!

So I guess I’m just writing this for me.

champion

Hi, me. Rule number one of most love stories is to keep them apart for as long as possible – as long as they’re apart you at least have conflict. Throughout the series, June and Day are drawn together like polar opposites, pulled apart by external forces, drawn back together, pulled back apart and so on. When they’re together, the focus is on figuring out who the bad guys really are and fighting them. I enjoyed the sections when they’re apart most as Lu does some serious character development. It’s like watching a sculptor add definition with increasingly sharper tools.

More than eight months have passed since June and Day last saw each other. June is a prodigious agent navigating politics when she wants to be on the ground patrolling. Again, she’s put in a position to serve the Republic by using Day’s weakness against him or risk the consequences. But Day is only one of many things on her mind. Observing the trials of would-be assassins forces her to re-live what happened to her brother and how she responded. She can’t help but note how Day and her brother chose to walk in the light once they knew the Republic used and abused its lower classes. She, on the other hand, looks at herself and still sees traces of the girl capable of betrayal.

Day is now famous and living in luxury instead of on the street. He’s keeping a big secret while taking care of his younger brother Eden.

I don’t have many days left – my mind is slowly falling apart, and so is my strength. But I do have enough strength for one thing. I have enough time to take one final step.

Day and June are drawn back together, though not to fight the Republic or the Patriots. This time the threat is on the border as the bloodless corporate Colonies make their move to invade. The enemy is strong and the Republic’s allies might just sit this out. A political trip to Antarctica broadens our view of the Republic by showing us how it’s seen by the rest of the world.

Again and again, Lu reminds you why you’re hooked on this series. June and Day are highly intelligent fighters with wounded hearts. Lots of action written in fast detail keeps momentum rolling. June agonizes over past mistakes while Day faces the biggest fight of his life. At rare times when the action dips, emotions spike for this impossible love story. Granted, the lovey stuff and constant descriptions of June and Day’s physical beauty annoyed me in the previous two books. In Champion, it all works.

With titles like Legend, Prodigy and Champion, readers have reason to expect a big story. They won’t be disappointed. I’m sad it’s over. Afterall we’ve been through, I will miss June and Day. The end, though. Ahhh. The end of Champion is so satisfying. It’s like a warm bowl of fudgy pudding cake. Of course, it’s not over. Of course, now there’s an upcoming film adaptation. Fine. I’ll see it.

