Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’M SICK OF EVERYBODY TELLING ME I’M SO SEXY ALL THE TIME.

This was a loud end of what I’m certain was a most stimulating phone conversation, overheard on my walk home this morning after a delightfully cool-ish disturbingly early run. She may have a legitimate complaint here. Sexy may be her burden to bear. I don’t know. I don’t judge. I returned home to complain loudly about non-problems, in solidarity.

I’M SICK OF WATERMELON TASTING SO DELICIOUS ALL THE TIME.

And you know what else? I’M SICK OF PLAYING HOOKY AND CATCHING MATINEES AT FILM FORUM SOME OF THE TIME. AND THEN WALKING DOWN HOUSTON STREET TO PUNJABI DELI, THE BEST INDIAN FOOD IN THE WHOLE CITY, AND EATING IT ON OUR FIRE ESCAPE WITH A COLD GLASS OF RIESLING. SO SICK OF IT, you know?

Now that that’s off my chest, I have to send some hearty high-fives to Mayor Bill de Blasio, a man I still can’t believe lived right around the corner from us pre-mayor years. After cutting the library’s funding by $24 million over the last few years The New York Public Library is receiving a $4.4 million funding increase. The total operating budget for the library is $144 million, which sounds like plenty, but that’s for all three systems – NYC, Brooklyn and Queens. In response to previous cuts, library branches were cutting hours, heading in an ominous direction in a time when libraries around the country are being shut down.

Roughly 95% of the books I read are library books. So in a way, if you squint, it’s like the Mayor just gave me a $4.4 million budget increase. I’M SO SICK OF EVERYBODY GIVING ME MONEY ALL THE TIME.

We use the Manhattan and Brooklyn systems equally. My favorite librarians in the city work at the Jefferson Market Branch. Maybe it’s because the location is a former jail, or that it’s located around the block from the first place I lived in the city, or that it’s so pretty at night, or around the corner from Insomnia Cookies, which I can no longer eat but love to smell. Whatever the reason, walking up the spiral stone staircase and picking up my holds sometimes makes the city feel like one gigantic neighborhood. I’m so glad they now have the budget they need to operate on all cylinders.

jeffersonmarket

Photo credit: NYPL

In other the-library-is-awesome news, certain branches of the Brooklyn library are offering FREE breast mammograms to women age 40 and older who haven’t had a scan in the past year. If you have insurance, it sounds like they’re waiving co-pays. Appointments are necessary and take place in a scan mobile parked outside the branch.

