Tags

, , ,

Last week, I was on my way to a meeting on 44th street and saw yet another Imperial Woodpecker film shoot with TWIN PEAKS clearly crossed out on the road closed post.  I’m 72% pretty sure I’m not stalking this production.

Later that day, I was in Jefferson Market library picking up my stack of holds when a girl about six years old comes up by herself. Her book bag was partially open with the corners of books poking out. When it was her turn to checkout, she stood on her tip toes and slid her DVDs across the high counter. Then she stuffed her movies in the bag with all her books and made her way back down the spiral stone staircase. I found her in the children’s room sitting next to an adult and realized I was being weird in following a kid around, but she was the same age as my niece and I had to make sure she was with an adult. Plus she reminded me to grab some kids books for my buddies.

camping

When not inadvertently creeping around the maybe Twin Peaks production this month, I went camping with my little buddies somewhere in the Poconos. Since they were born I’ve wanted to go camping with them on Lake George. Not being a parent or the one driving on what would’ve been a long ride, my vote was ignored in favor of a closer less crowded destination.

camping

The little one is not fond of ‘smores. She fell asleep early and missed dinner and dessert so she got to have one after breakfast. When asked why she was pulling out the perfectly gooey marshmallow and wiping it on her plate she put her finger on her lip and thought about it. Then said, “How you say …. eeeeeeew?”

camping

Days with the two of them are never dull. We canoed, read books, played in the water and they drew some of the fish and things they wanted to remember. The little one drew me with a potato body and two hairs on my head, but one of those hairs was my arm. I wonder if she sees all grownups as talking potatoes. My older niece took to camping like a fish to water. She wants to split next summer between the beach and camping. Sounds good to me.

camping

Chilly misty mornings on a lake are the best. Especially when somebody else already has a fire going and coffee percolating. A huge plus of camping with my sisters is they need coffee more than I do and are willing to do the work to make it happen.

camping

We only stayed one night. Hours after dipping my toes in the lake and paddling around, I was back in the city sweating in a subway station renewing my commitment to move someplace with more trees than concrete, more bird songs than sirens. A place my buddies will approve of.

